District Information

Board meetings are held at 5:00pm every third Thursday of each month.  Meetings are held at the District office conference room.

The District is required to hold an annual meeting during the first quarter of each year.  DeKalb SWCD has traditionally held ours during the month of March.  The meeting is free to the public.  At the meeting the supervisors give those in attendance a financial report and review the minutes from the previous annual meeting.  There is a supervisor election.  A guest speaker is usually present and last but not least awards are given out to DeKalb County producers along with an environmental award to a conservation minded company, entity or individual.

The meal at the annual meeting is provided by our many sponsors.  The DeKalb SWCD Supervisors and staff wish to thank our sponsors for their generous support!!




DeKalb County 2018 Annual Meeting

DeKalb County 2018 Annual Meeting

The 2018 Annual Meeting and Banquet was held on March 13th at Bridgewater Golf Club in Auburn, IN.  We had a little over 100 people in attendance.  The district had to hold a short business meeting with the audience approving the minutes from the previous annual meeting as well as the 2017 financial report.  An election was held for one open supervisor position.  Incumbent Sarah Delbecq ran for the position un-opposed.  County Councilman Bill VanWye swore in Sarah as well as re-appointed supervisor Jeff Conrad for another 3 year term.  We were lucky to have Dr. Peter Goldsbrough from Purdue University speak on GMOs.  An awards presentation closed out the evening.  George & Sandy Dykhuizen of Woodbridge Farm was recognized as the 2017 DeKalb County River Friendly Farmer.   The theme of the district awards was changed to “The District Spotlight Award”.  Three “Spotlight” awards were given.  First to Bowman & Bowman Farms for their continuing support of the Conservation Evaluation Assessment Program (CEAP).  The second “Spotlight” award was presented to Don and Frank Hamman for their cooperation with the CEAP research project.  Finally the third award was presented to Cathy Manuel from the DeKalb Health Department for her determination in updating the county septic ordinance.  It was an enjoyable evening with a delicious meal provided by Bridgewater and our sponsors, a very informative presentation by Dr. Goldsbrough and great friends!

DeKalb Supervisor Steve Watson, left, with 
River Friendly Farm Award recipients Sandy 
& George Dykhuizen.

Supervisors Steve Watson, left & Steve Provines,
far right, with Jerry Heffly, (2nd left) Bob Bowman,
Kevin Bowman, Rachel Bowman, Elliot Moughler
and Charlie Crowl of Bowman & Bowman farms

Supervisors Judy Strock, left & Sarah
Delbecq, far right with Frank & Don Hamman


 Cathy Manuel, DeKalb Health Dept
and Natural Resource 
Coordinator Allen Haynes

Our Team


Allen Haynes

Natural Resources Coordinator

Julie Knudson

District Coordinator

Bill Ward

Conservation Technician

Kyle Holden

CEAP Technician

Jeanne Burns

Office Assistant



Jeff Conrad


Steve Provines

Vice Chair

Judy Strock


Steve Watson


Sarah Delbecq


Conservation Partners

Derek Thompson

District Conservationist, USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service

Kate Sanders

Resource Specialist, Indiana State Department of Ag

Conservation Newsletter

Our newsletter is distributed quarterly.  To receive a copy please contact our office and we will be happy to add you to our mailing list (260.925.5620 x3) or you can download a pdf version.

February Newsletter 2015
Spring Newsletter 2015